Modi to flag off 36 new local trains in Mumbai

Narendra Modi to flag off 36 new local trains

Narendra Modi, Prime minister of India, will flag off 36 new local train services on the Central Railway and dedicate the newly-constructed fifth and sixth railway lines between Diva and Thane railway stations to the people on Friday. Uddhav Thackeray, Chief minister, and Ajit Pawar, deputy chief minister, also have been invited to the function.

Raosaheb Danve, Minister of State for Railways, said

"The Narendra Modi will flag off new local trains on the Central Railway on 18 February. As many as 27 Lakh passengers will be benefitted from the 36 new local trains added. This project was announced in 2008 and has now been completed by spending of more than ₹620 crore,"

Out of 36, 34 new (AC) Air-Conditioned local trains will be introduced between (CSMT) Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus- Kalyan/ Kasara and Karjat railways stations.

Raosaheb Danve further stated that the Modi government had allocated ₹11,000 crores for the railway projects in Maharashtra between 2015 and 2021 against just ₹1,100 crores given by the previous UPA government 2009 and 2014.

Danve added 

"The allocation of the project budget for Maharashtra has gone up by ten times during the Modi government. Development in Maharashtra and the development of railways will happen. Rehabilitation of people across the railway lines is a state government issue and the decisions should be done within the framework of Supreme Court order and law,"

As the new train services will be introduced, 44 AC local train services will be operated on the Central Railway mainline.

One AC train will be withdrawn from the Harbour railway operating between CSMT and Panvel railways stations to increase the train services on the Central Railway mainline.

The fifth and sixth railway lines project between Thane and Diva is a part of the Mumbai Urban Transport Project (MUTP 2B) that got approval in 2008. Mumbai Rail Vikas Corporation (MRVC) undertook the project's construction and completed the railway line's commissioning work after a 72-hour block on 8 February.

Follow Us