About electric bus in Delhi

About electric bus in Delhi

On Monday, Arvind Kejriwal, Chief Minister of Delhi, launched the first electric bus with a promise of adding 300 more e-buses by the end of April. With this, Delhi, the national capital, has become the sixth city to start electric buses after Maharashtra, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Gujarat, respectively. CM Kejriwal said the government would procure 2000 electric buses in the coming years.

The electric bus created by JBM Auto LTD is equipped with CCTV cameras, a two-way central command, a control center (CCC) at Kashmere Gate, ten panic buttons on each bus, and a hooter. Besides, these buses have kneeling ramps for differently-challenged passengers and special pink seats for women.

The electric bus will help fight the air pollution in the city. It is a zero-emission bus that makes almost no sound. The first e-bus in a DTC fleet comes with zero tailpipe emissions. The city government said it is the first batch of 300 electric buses that will be inducted under DTC.

Everything About electric bus in DelhiTwitter image: @JBMAuto

Read More: No shortage of oxygen this time says Delhi CM

The e-bus can be charged within a one-and-half hour to one hour on a fast charger. It can run for a minimum of 120 km in one charge.

The entire public transport bus fleet is available on Google Maps, allowing commuters to plan their journeys and track the buses at any time. Delhi Government's One Delhi app can also book tickets in less than a minute.

The electric bus will operate on route No.E-44, from DTC's Indraprastha (IP) Depot via ITO, AGCR, Tilak Marg, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, Connaught Place, Janpath, Rajesh Pilot Marg, Prithvi Raj Road, Aurobindo Marg, AIIMS, Ring Road, South Extension, Ashram, Bhogal, Jangpura, India Gate, High Court, Pragati Maidan and will be terminated at IP Depot.

The fleet of 300 e-buses will run from Mundela Kalan (100 buses), Rajghat (50), and Rohini Sector 37 (150 buses) bus depots.

Follow Us