Thursday, 20 January 2022

All Rajasthan Minister to Resign before Reshuffle of cabinet

All Rajasthan Minister to Resign before Reshuffle of cabinet

All ministers of Rajasthan have resigned ahead of the Cabinet reshuffle, Congress leader Pratap Singh Khachariyawas was quoted as saying by PTI.

A Rajasthan council of ministers meeting began at Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s residence at 7 pm on Saturday, ahead of a proposed Cabinet reshuffle. The oath-taking ceremony is probably to be held on Sunday, PTI reported quoting sources.

Govind Singh Dotasra, Harish Chaudhary, and Raghu Sharma had offered their resignations in writing to Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Friday.

Earlier on Saturday, Gehlot and AICC general secretary in-charge for Rajasthan Ajay Maken and PCC chief Dotasra addressed a Kisan Vijay Diwas gathering. After that, Maken and Gehlot held a meeting at a hotel.

Maken arrived in Jaipur last night and told reporters about the resignation of the three ministers who desired to work for the party. While Dotasra is the PCC chief, Harish Chaudhary and Raghu Sharma are in charge of the party’s affairs in Punjab and Gujarat.

Later, Gehlot met Governor Kalraj Mishra at Raj Bhawan in Jaipur.

Read More: VAT reduced on Diesel and Petrol in Rajasthan from Today

The clamor for a reshuffle grew for several months, with former Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot’s camp demanding that his supporters be accommodated in the government. Apart from Congress MLAs, independents supporting the government and MLAs who defected from the BSP to Congress also have expectations from the reshuffle.

The Pilot faction had been hoping that he would be made the CM long before the state goes for Assembly polls in 2023. Some within his section wanted this to happen at least two years before the survey, which is right now, to avoid a Punjab-like mess and for Pilot to comfortably settle in and make a mark based on which he can again seek votes 2023.

Last year, Pilot had led a revolt of 19 Congress MLAs, including himself. While the party removed Pilot from deputy CM post and as the Panchayati Raj minister, his loyalist Vishvendra Singh was released as the Tourism minister. Ramesh Meena was also removed from Food and Civil Supplies Minister post.

The crisis lasted beyond a month, and party high command had to step into broker peace between the two camps. After the two agreed in August 2020 following the truce, it was expected that Pilot’s loyalists would be adjusted in Gehlot’s cabinet. However, Gehlot has been resisting expanding his cabinet till now.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Delhi cold for a sixth consecutive day, IMD says relief likely soon

Delhi cold for a sixth consecutive day, IMD says relief like…

Farhan Sayyed Jan 18, 2022 Politics

Many Parts of Delhi recorded cold day conditions for the sixth consecutive day on Tuesday. Overcast skies and low clouds swing over the city even as I...