Thursday, 20 January 2022

Punjab government reduce petrol and diesel price

Punjab government reduce petrol and diesel price

On Sunday, Charanjit Singh Channi, chief minister of Punjab, announced that the Punjab cabinet has decided to reduce petrol prices by ₹10 per liter and diesel by Rs. 5 per liter. This comes after the central govt announced a slash in excise duty on fuel a day before the Diwali festival earlier this week.

According to Manpreet Singh Badal, finance minister diesel and petrol's effective per liter price will be Rs. 85 and Rs. 95 per liter respectively (as effective in Jalandhar), which will be applicable from midnight.

He said that on reduction effective VAT on diesel will be 9.92% and on petrol 13.77%.

With BJP-ruled states announcing reduction following Centre's excise move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) in the state earlier questioned the Congress government regarding the reduction in the value-added tax imposed on petrol and diesel.

"Why is the Punjab government not giving relief to people by reducing VAT on fuel?" BJP Punjab chief Ashwani Sharma questioned the Channi government on Saturday. "All states have slashed the prices of fuel. According to a PTI report but this government has done nothing so far," former chief minister and SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal said. He earlier on Saturday demanded that the government reduce prices by ₹10.

Punjab government reduce petrol and diesel price 1pixabay image

Read More: Diesel and petrol price slashed by states

The BJP earlier this week attacked state governments ruled by the opposition parties like the Congress and the Trinamool Congress for not reducing the VAT on petrol and diesel soon after the Centre announced.

A report by PTI said that BJP and its partner-ruled states saw steeper reductions in petrol and diesel prices than Delhi, Maharashtra, West Bengal, and other states governed by other parties.

Which states have reduced VAT?

Karnataka, Puducherry, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Assam, Sikkim, Bihar Goa, Gujarat, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Chandigarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Meghalaya, Ladakh, Punjab, and Madhya Pradesh

Which states have not yet reduced VAT?

Delhi, West Bengal, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, and Tamil Nadu

Petrol was costliest in Rajasthan at ₹111.10 per liter. This was followed by Mumbai, where petrol cost ₹109.98, and Andhra Pradesh, where the petrol price was ₹109.05.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Delhi cold for a sixth consecutive day, IMD says relief likely soon

Delhi cold for a sixth consecutive day, IMD says relief like…

Farhan Sayyed Jan 18, 2022 Politics

Many Parts of Delhi recorded cold day conditions for the sixth consecutive day on Tuesday. Overcast skies and low clouds swing over the city even as I...