Wednesday, 07 December 2022

Australia Squad for Pakistan Series for ODI and T20

Australia Squad for Pakistan Series for ODI and T20

Australia's pace trio Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell, and David Warner have been rested for the ODI and T20 of the Pakistan tour.

Cricbuzz already reported four of the players, as mentioned above, who are also key personnel in their respective IPL franchises, will not the first week of the IPL T20 league owing to the policy of Cricket Australia not allowing contracted players to feature in other events or tournaments while the national team is in action. They can, however, travel to India straight away after the Tests against Pakistan and complete their Covid quarantine requirements and be available to play the IPL from 6th April.

Australian team squad for the three ODIs and T20I in Pakistan contains other IPL bound players, including Nathan Ellis, Marcus Stoinis, Jason Behrend, Mitchell Marsh. They will miss at least a week more due to travel and quarantine requirements.

Australian players not on a Cricket Australia contract, such as Riley Meredith and Daniel Sams, will be free to connect with their respective IPL teams after any state commitments are over, as will Nathan Coulter-Nile and Tim David, neither of whom hold state contracts.

Matthew Wade, who Gujarat Titans signed on, has not been picked for the T20I, with Josh Inglis set to take over the gloves after an impressive series against Sri Lanka.

Simon Helmot to be SRH assistant coach after Katich Resign

"We have picked a talented and versatile squad with a number of challenges to juggle, including the tour structure of predominantly 50 over games, management of several multi-format players in the medium to long term; and our need to build experience and depth in preparation for two short-form World Cups within the next 18 months," National Selector George Bailey said in a statement.

"We're confident the squad can both compete successfully on this tour and continue our progress towards those crucial tournaments."

The four games of the white-ball leg are scheduled to be played in Rawalpindi on 29th March, 31st March, 2nd April, and 5th April, respectively. The IPL 2022 schedule is yet to be confirmed but is tentatively expected to start on the weekend of March 26-27.

Squad: Aaron Finch (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...