Wednesday, 07 December 2022

BCCI announced 18 member squad for SA ODI, KL Rahul to Lead

BCCI announced 18 member squad for SA ODI, KL Rahul to Lead

Lokesh Rahul has been named captain of India's ODI team for a three-match series against SA starting next month, with Rohit Sharma failing to recover from an injury that ruled him out of South Africa Tests.

The BCCI began the year by announcing India's 18-member squad for the three matches on January 19, 21, and 23.

Firstly, Jasprit Bumrah was named the team's vice-captain, while spinner R Ashwin, who earlier returned to India's T20I squad, made his comeback also in the 50-over format for the first time in four years. R Ashwin's last ODI dates back to June of 2017 against WI.

BCCI gave Many promising youngsters earned the maiden ODI call-ups. Reaping the rewards of a splendid IPL for Chennai Super Kings - where he won the Orange Cap scoring 635 runs - and an equally phenomenal run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, where he emerged as the tournament's highest run-scorer with 603 runs from five matches, including four centuries, Gaikwad has entered the Indian ODI fold. The 24-year-old batter had received his India cap earlier in July, playing two T20Is against Sri Lanka. Iyer was in red-hot form in VHT, scoring 379 runs and grabbing nine wickets from six matches.

Read More: Tim takes an indefinite mental health break from all forms of cricket

The experienced Shikhar Dhawan has retained his place in India's ODI squad after leading the team in Sri Lanka and is likely to be Rahul's opening partner. At the same time, the Pandya brothers - Hardik and Krunal, continue to remain absent. The duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, who missed the SA Tests due to injuries, will continue to sit out as both are yet to recover entirely.

The South Africa ODIs will also offer an opportunity for Bhuvneshwar Kumar to try and capture back the form and swing that made him a threat in the absence of Mohammed Shami, who Sharma announced has been provided rest factoring in workload management. He and Bumrah will the Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, and the other four pacers.

During the virtual presser, BCCI announced that six players in leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi, all-rounders Rishi Dhawan and Shahrukh Khan, and pacers Harshal Patel and Avesh Khan were discussed given the impact they have made in the domestic circuit. Although they did not cut, the likelihood of that happening soon is strong.

India squad for SA ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (Vice-captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...