Saturday, 28 January 2023

Biggest sixes in IPL history

Biggest sixes in IPL history

In the IPL tournament, every team needs players who can hit big sixes at their will. These power-hit batsmen also allow the fans to enjoy the game better as they want to see some big sixes in the tournament.

So, the longest six in the history of the IPL? The answer is former CSK allrounder Albie Morkel, which is surprising given the heavyweights like Chris Gayle and MS Dhoni could not top the list. Albie Morkel hit a 125-meter six against Pragyan Ojha back in the first edition, i.e., 2008, when he played for Chennai Super Kings. He is the only player in IPL history to cross the 125-meter mark. Albie Morkel's extreme knock against Bangalore when he hit 28 runs off Virat Kohli's over is still alive in fans' memories.

The second on the list is not a specialist batsman. Praveen Kumar smacked a 124-meter huge six against Malinga in IPL 2011, making him a dark horse in this list. Adam Gilchrist hit a 122-meter enormous six in the same season when he appeared for the Punjab team. Robin Uthappa's hit 120-meter six while playing for RCB in IPL 2010 puts him at the fourth spot in the record tally.

The 'universe boss' Chris Gayle finds himself in joint fifth spot with his 119-meter six hits in the 2013 season. Another famous player for hitting sixes is Yuvraj Singh, who has also shot 119-meter six. Ross Taylor, who started the IPL journey with RCB in 2008, struck 119 meters six in the first season.

Ben Cutting played a superb knock of 39 runs off only 15 balls in IPL 2016 final, helping SRH win the title. He hit a 117-meter six in this innings, sending the ball out of Chinnaswamy stadium. Gautam Gambhir and Liam Livingstone are next on this list with 117-meter sixes apiece.

Longest sixes in IPL

Player  Six Distance (in Meters)  Year 
 Albie Morkel  125  2008
 Praveen Kumar  124  2011
 Adam Gilchrist  122  2011
 Robin Uthappa  120  2010
 Chris Gayle  119  2013
 Yuvraj Singh  119  2009
 Ross Taylor  119  2008
 Ben Cutting  117  2016
 Gautam Gambhir  117  2013
 Liam Livingstone  117  2022

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...