Thursday, 02 February 2023

ICC Named Most Valuable team of the tournament

ICC Named Most Valuable team of the tournament

No Indian player was named in the ICC's T20 World Cup Most Valuable Team of the Tournament as players from six teams cut the lineup, including the 12th man.

The International Cricket Council came up with the team a day after Australia won T20 World Cup 2021 title after defeating New Zealand(Kiwi) in the final by eight wickets. Winners are Australia and New Zealand were runners-up, semifinalists England and Pakistan made it to the tournament's value team. Players from South Africa and Sri Lanka also feature in the star lineup post by ICC. Babar Azam of Pakistan was named captain of the group, while player of the tournament David Warner was one of the openers in the XI.

England opener Jos Buttler was named the wicket-keeper batter, who would open with Warner, while his teammate Moeen Ali was the Number 6 batter in the list. Charith Asalanka of Sri Lanka and Aiden Markram of South Africa are the No.5 and No.4 batters, with captain Babar batting at the crucial number 3 spot.

Two spinners, excluding all-rounder Moeen Ali who are in, are Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasanranga taking 16 wickets and Australia's Adam Zampa taking 13 wickets. Hasanranga was the highest wicket-taker in the event, and he also got a hat-trick in a Super 12 encounter against South Africa, where his team lost the match in the final over.

Three pacers who made it to the XI are Josh Hazlewood (11 wickets), New Zealand's left-arm pacer Trent Boult (13 wickets), and South Africa pacer Anrich Nortje (9 wickets).

Read More: MCG to host final of 2022 T20 World Cup

According to ICC, the side was selected by a team featuring commentators, former international players, and journalists.

Ian Bishop,said  who was one of the members of the selection panel.

"As with team selection, there will be different opinions and robust meeting on the final composition of squad. The group respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will follow,"

He added.

"This team was too difficult to select over such a highly competitive event. Selections were based mainly on the Super 12 onward to the final,"

ICC Men's T20 World Cup ( batting order):

David Warner of Australia - 289 runs at an average of 48.16
Jos Buttler of England (wk) - 269 runs at an average of 89.66, with five dismissals
Babar Azam of Pakistan (Captain) - 303 runs at an average of 60.60
Charith Asalanka of Sri Lanka - 231 runs at an average of 46.20
Markram of South Africa - 162 runs at an average of 54.00
Moeen Ali of England - 92 runs at average and strike rate of 131.42, seven wickets at 11
Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka - 16 wickets at 9.75
Adam Zampa of Australia - 13 wickets at 12.07
Josh Hazlewood of Australia - 11 wickets at 15.90
Trent Boult of New Zealand - 13 wickets at 13.30
Anrich Nortje of South Africa - nine wickets at 11.55

Pakistan pacer Shaheen Afridi of Pakistan- seven wickets at 24.14 was named as the 12th player.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...