Saturday, 28 January 2023

India's new uncapped to audition for T20I

India's new uncapped to audition for T20I

India's new Uncapped players to start Lankan audition for T20I. Prithvi Shaw is contemplating opening alongside captain Shikhar Dhawan, while seniors Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are considering finding automatic slots in India playing XI.

A bunch of new faces will be eager for a fair T20 World Cup audition when India's different-looking yet intimidating white-ball team faces Sri Lanka in the six matches limited-overs tournament, begins with the first ODI here on Sunday.

It will be cardinal for winning any international series, but one can expect a few fusions tried out during a series that got hinder by five days due to the COVID-19 fright in the Sri Lankan camp. The series incorporated three ODIs and T20s.

Srilanka's 10th captain is Dasun Shanaka in four years. Apart from Dhananjaya de Silva, a classy batsman and a steady pacer in Dishmantha Chameera, this team lacks the quality to challenge the potency of the Indian team led by Shikhar Dhawan.

With the suspension of Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis due to a bio-bubble in the UK, Sri Lanka is in a tight spot, along with an injury to former skipper Kusal Perera. If they can cope with winning one game, that will be an accomplishment in itself after a catastrophic tour of England.

Expect Vijay Hazare Trophy's top scorer, Prithvi Shaw, to open alongside Shikhar Dhawan, while seniors Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya expected to find automatic slots playing XI.

However, there are multiple contenders for other remaining slots.

Will it be Ruturaj Gaikwad or Devdutt Padikkal for No three slot? Will Suryakumar Yadav's 360-degree hitting skills have utilized, or Manish Pandey get a final chance to show some regularity?

Will Krishnappa Gowtham's offspring and big hits be favors over Krunal Pandya's left arm shaft along with insolent batting skills?

And who will don big gloves? Is it Rahul Dravid's Sanju Samson or the mercurial Mumbai Indians man Ishan Kishan, who can create an opportunity?

These questions need to be answered by the team management during the next 11 days in Colombo.

Indias new uncapped to audition for T20I squadGetty Images

India's bench strength has always been a matter of jealousy for all top cricketing nations and has allowed the national team to compete in two different parts globally in COVID.

Read More: T20 WC 2021: India to play Pakistan

While Virat Kohli's men are eager to set their Test record in England, the team led by Dhawan and coached by Dravid, the man is responsible for creating the pool.

A team with Dhawan and Shaw at the top and the likes of Pandey, Suryakumar, Pandya brothers, Hardik and Krunal, seasoned Deepak Chahar, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar with spin twins Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal can be anything but a feeble opponent.

While there are six newbies in this Indian line-up, Dravid had recently made it clear that it will be challenging to provide game time to all the available payers.

Dravid and Dhawan's expectations would be consulting with Ravi Shastri and Kohli on what they would be looking for from the mishmash of players available with them.

There are not many slots available in the Indian cricket team for the T20 World Cup, which is crystal clear. And it would need some out-of-the-world show from the rookies to find a space in the UAE-bound section.


India: (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk)Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Krishnappa Gowtham, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini Chetan Sakariya.

Sri Lanka: (Captain) Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa,Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dhananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...