Thursday, 28 October 2021

Indian domestic season will start From 20 September

Indian domestic season will start From 20 September

BCCI has decided to hold Ranji Trophy early next year. It intends to kickstart the new domestic season with Women's Under-19 One-Day and Vinoo Mankad Trophy (Men's Under-19) competitions in just about a month.

The tournaments could not behold last year because of the pandemic and will run for 29 days from 20 September to 19 October.

The Ranji Trophy was also on hold last year due to the pandemic. The BCCI said it's working closely with the Indian government, state regulatory authorities, and other relevant stakeholders to ensure that the objective of conducting the domestic tournaments is achieving. The Ranji Trophy has been scheduling from 5 January to 20 March.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah told Cricbuzz.

"The pandemic been tough for all of us, we have all had to make some harsh decisions that have kept away from playing a full domestic cricket season in India. On behalf of BCCI, we thank all administrators, match officials our state associations, coaches, and athletes, for the patience and understanding,"

In the communique on Thursday (19 August), Shah further informed the state units that the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 Trophy would be carrying from 27 October to 22 November. The Vijay Hazare One-day championship will start from 1 December to 29.

Indian domestic season will start From 20 September 1getty image

Read More: New Committee to be formed by BCCI for compensation of domestic cricketers

A new feature of the season is introducing Inter-State A competition for the Under-25 men, something reported by Cricbuzz on 1 August. The tournament replaces with hitherto Under-23 championship for the Col CK Nayudu Trophy. The competition will be carrying from 6 January to 2 April.

The board also clears the air of uncertainty over the Under-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy.

However, the BCCI has decided to hold it in November-December, although the dates have not yet been revealing.

The BCCI stipulated that the squad size can be a maximum of 30 members contain 20 players minimum. "Hence, the number of support staff is capped to 10. Each team is encouraged to have a team physician to manage COVID-related issues. The team physician is separate from team physiotherapist and is inclusive of the 10 support staff," the BCCI said.

The last date for Inter-state transfer and registration of guest players, As per BCCI, will be 15 days before the start of the specific tournament.

Shah wrote in his mail.

"The restart date for BCCI Domestic Cricket Season 2021-22 has been reviewed with all stakeholders, as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic develops and we work together through this very challenging time,"

Calendar for Domestic season

1. Women's Under 19 (One-Day) -20 September - 18 October

2 Vinoo Mankad Trophy -20 September - 18 October

3. Men Challenger Trophy (U-19 ) - 26 October - 9 November

4. Women Challenger Trophy (U-19) - 25 October - 6 November

5. Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy -27 October - 22 November

6. Senior Women's One-Day -20 October - 20 November

7. Men's State A One-Day - 9 November - 10 December

8. Vijay Hazare Trophy -1 December - 29 December

9. Senior Women's Challenger Trophy -26 November - 8 December

10. Ranji Trophy -5 January - 20 March

11. Cooch Behar Trophy (Men's U-19) - 21 November to 2 February

12. CK Nayudu (Men 4-day, U-25)- January 6 - April 2

13. Senior Women's T20 -20 February to 23 March

14. Vijay Merchant Trophy (Men U-16 ) -November-December

Follow Us

Popular Post

School in Delhi to re-open from 1st November

School in Delhi to re-open from 1st November

Farhan Sayyed Oct 27, 2021 Politics

After more than eighteen months, all schools in Delhi will be permitted to re-open for all classes, including at the primary level—from 1st November. ...