Tuesday, 27 September 2022

Indian Squad for T20 World Cup

 Indian Squad for T20 World Cup

Indian T20 WC Squad? The Mystery spinner Rahul Chahar Varun Chakravarthy, with his fast leg-breaks, will fight it out for the additional tweaker's spot when the selectors pick the Indian squad for next month's ICC T20 World Cup on Wednesday.

T20 WC team selection: Selectors ready to name Indian team for World Cup, only one between Chakravarthy or Rahul Chahar to be selected, follow live updates

T20 WC team selection: When will the team be announced? InsideSport.co had already revealed on Sunday that the World Cup team gets finalized after discussion between the selectors, coach Ravi Shastri & Indian captain Virat Kohli. As a custom, the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee will meet at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai and link up in Manchester with skipper Virat Kohli. Coach Ravi Shastri in London on Tuesday & one final time will discuss the team before the BCCI

BCCI's president Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah (convenor of the selection committee) gets expected to be a part of the meeting, according to PTI.

While the team has expected to be announced today following the discussion, it has done on Wednesday as Virat Kohli traveled to Manchester from London on Tuesday.

Also, Read India's T20 WC Team: Indian team for the T20 World Cup is confirmed, announced on Wednesday; follow live updates.

A top BCCI official told.

"We expected to have a final discussion today. But since the team is reaching Manchester today, we will have it tomorrow,"

As per the official, the Indian team gets set to undergo COVID tests before entering the hotel, where they get expected to have a tighter bubble.

When asked if Ravi Shastri will be able to join the conference call, the official said,

"He has mild symptoms but otherwise doing better. So, he should be able to join. But that depends on his health tomorrow. We already have had a discussion. So, if he is not able to join the call, it will not be a problem."

T20 WC team selection – Indian T20 WC Squad: While most of the teams are announcing 15-member squads, the BCCI has expected to reveal either an 18 or 20 member squad as the ICC has allowed a squad strength of 30, instead of 23 members in earlier editions, amid the COVID-19. The number is encompassing the support staff.

The Indian team will have at least 13 to 15 members, who are automatically selected, but there are a few slots for which there will be some discussions.

T20 WC team selection – Indian T20 WC Squad: Ravindra Jadeja and Yuzvendra Chahal are two spinners who are but sure of their spots, and it could well be a toss-up between Chakravarthy, who has had suitable IPL runs, and Rahul, who influenced the recent tour of Sri Lanka.

With KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant both capable of donning the keeping, Ishan Kishan, with some great performances for India in the recent tour of Sri Lanka, is expected to pip the highly-rated-but-under-performing Sanju Samson.

With Hardik Pandya not bowling his full four overs, Shardul Thakur has required after his newfound batting prowess.

Suryakumar Yadav will get called an assurance, while Shreyas Iyer will get his rightful place back in the team.

Read More: Huge win for India in 4th Test at Oval

After Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, with good back-to-back IPL tournaments and an in-form Prithvi Shaw, will be quarreling for the extra opening slot. But in the case of a twenty-member team, both might get a look-in.

T20 WC team selection – Indian T20 WC Squad: In the fast bowling department, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah(if fully fit) are automatic selections, but the red-hot Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Chahar are also in dispute.

Chetan Sakariya and T Natarajan are there among left-arm pacers, but the latter has hardly played anything while the former may accompany the team as a net bowler.

T20 WC team selection – The Likely Indian Squad:

Certainties (14): Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Buvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

Extra Opener: Shikhar Dhawan/Prithvi Shaw
Reserve keeper: Ishan Kishan/Sanju Samson
Extra Spinner: Varun Chakravarthy/Rahul Chahar
Left-arm pacer: Chetan Sakariya/T Natarajan
Subject to Fitness: Washington Sundar.
Cover for Jadeja: Axar Patel/Krunal Pandya.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...