Friday, 03 February 2023

Pujara, Rahane out for SL Tests; Rohit to Lead Team India

Pujara, Rahane out for SL Tests; Rohit to Lead Team India

Senior batters Rahane and Pujara have been dropped from India's Test squad for the home series against Sri Lanka, and the BCCI announced on Saturday (February 19). The selectors, who also named Rohit Sharma the new Test captain, have opted for a re-jig on expected lines, with wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha and experienced fast bowler Ishant Sharma also getting the axe alongside Rahane and Pujara.

Uncapped left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar makes it to the squad with Axar Patel continuing to recover, whereas KS Bharat has taken over Saha's spot as the backup keeper. Opener Priyank Panchal, who was a part of the touring party in South Africa recently, retains his spot following the omissions of Rahane and Pujara. At the same time, Shubman Gill makes a comeback after missing the tour with an injury. Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been announced as Rohit's deputy.

Pujara Rahane out for SL Tests Rohit to Lead Team IndiaTwitter image: @BCCI

Read More: Ind-Pak T20 World Cup 2022 match tickets sold out within minutes

Ravindra Jadeja makes a comeback, but his long-time spin partner Ravichandran Ashwin will make the final cut only after clearing a fitness test.

"Why he did not play Ranji, the state association CAB cab tell you that. That is not my jurisdiction. As selectors, we wanted them to play. We are not looking at age. When youngsters are sitting outside, we think we shall give them a chance for these two test matches. But it's crucial to play Ranji. Else, how will we know if you are match-ready?

Test squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, R Pant, KS Bharat Ashwin (subject to fitness), R Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, J Bumrah (VC), Md. Shami, Md. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (c)Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md. Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Y Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...