Saturday, 28 January 2023

T20 WC 2021: India to play Pakistan

T20 WC 2021 India to play with Pakistan in same group

Hosts India had pooled with New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and two qualifier teams in Group 2 for the T20 World Cup will play later this year. England, South Africa, Australia, West Indies, and two more qualifier teams will form Group 1.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will have to go through the qualifying tournament. Sri Lanka has been placed in Group A with Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia, while Bangladesh will face Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman.

According to T20I rankings, as of March 20, 2021, groups are formed. Six teams - Netherlands, Ireland, PNG, Oman, Namibia, and Scotland - secure their places in the Qualifiers in 2019 via the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier. for the T20I tournament, the top eight ranked teams earned direct qualification.

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said.

"We are delighted to announce all groups for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great matchups offered by groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer,"

"Given disordering caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the greatest amount of cricket in the rankings which control the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months."

Read More: An Indian player tests positive in the UK

T20I tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman after it shifted out of India because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The game will kick start on October 17, and the final on November 14.

All teams will play the matches at four different venues - Dubai International Stadium, Sharjah Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, and Oman Cricket Academy Ground - and the fixtures for T20I will be declared soon.

"With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for ICC T20 World Cup kickstart," BCCI secretary Jay Shah said. "There is nothing that separates two groups as both have packed with sides that are highly competitive in the small format of the game. The stirring T20 form is known for its shock and surprise, and we must be ready for the same. I am sure we will witness some sensational and nail-biting matches.

"I am particularly enraptured to be in Oman. As a crucial force in world cricket, the BCCI has always endeavoured to encourage and assist Comrade Nations. In my amplitude as Asian Cricket Council President, my insight is to take cricket far and bottomless into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the global stage. They are also playing the Qualifiers and it will be an icing on the cake if they make it to Super 12s."

Group 1 - Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B.

Group 2 - India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Runner-up Group A, Winner Group B.

Group A - Sri Lanka, NetherlandsIreland, Ireland, Namibia.

Group B - Bangladesh, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea.

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...