Tuesday, 29 November 2022

NZ Team Announced for series for WT20 and India series, Taylor omitted from Squad

NZ Team Announced for series for WT20 and India series, Taylor omitted from Squad

The New Zealand veteran batsman Ross Taylor has not been included in the 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup, playing in UAE from October 17

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme is the other primary exclusion from the team named by New Zealand Cricket on Monday (August 9), which Kane Williamson will lead.

Taylor, a veteran of 102 T20Is, had not featured New Zealand in the T20 format since 2020 when New Zealand played against West Indies at home.

New Zealand has selected three spinners - Ish Sodhi, Todd Astle, and Mitchell Santner. They have also included four-seamers - Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, and Kyle Jamieson - to go with the all-around options of James Neesham and Daryl Mitchell.

Fast Bowler Adam Milne has been named an injury cover and will travel with the Squad to UAE. The same 15-member team will also play India in the three-match T20I preceding the tournament.

The New Zealand squad announced for the Test series in India will be announcing next month. David White, the NZC chief executive, stated, "They need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now genuine, and we've endeavored to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this winter's massive playing program.

NZ Team Announced for series for World Cup and India series Taylor omitted from Squad 1getty image

Read More: Former Nepal captain Paras Khadka announced retirement from International Cricket

New Zealand's near four-month Asian tour will begin with the series against Bangladesh, for which they will leave on August 23. The Squad for Bangladesh, where they will play five T20Is, will be led by Tom Latham. None of the members named in the team for the India tour and ICC World T20 will be a part of the Bangladesh tour. The 16-member Squad also includes an uncapped duo of Canterbury all-rounder Cole McConchie, and Wellington pacer Ben Sears.

The same squad, apart from Sears, will also play in the three ODIs against Pakistan to follow. A new crew of coaching staff, headed by Wellington coach Glenn Pocknall, will lead the tours to Bangladesh and Pakistan. New Zealand's bowling coach Shane Jurgenson will later join as the head coach for the Pakistan T20I series.

NZC declare that "Ross Taylor was selected for three ODIs in Pakistan but, with brief nature of one-week series and length of quarantine rules,

It mutually agreed he would remain at home to prepare for the Indian Test tour and upcoming home summer."

In the five-match T20I series against Pakistan, some of the members of the World Cup squad - Todd Astle, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill, and Ish Sodhi - will join the side. Matt Henry, too, will be a part of the T20Is in Pakistan, which is all set to begin on September 25.

NZ squad for T20 World Cup and India T20Is:

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

NZ Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs:

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

NZ Squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...