Wednesday, 07 December 2022

West Indies cricket announced world cup squad

West Indies cricket announced world cup squad

After a decade after winning the T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka, seamer Ravi Rampaul has another chance to add to his title after being picked up in the West Indies 15-member squad for upcoming tournaments.

Rampaul, now 36, last played T20I for West Indies in November 2015 but is now back in a mix after emerging as the best seamer on the spin-friendly St Kitts tracks in the ongoing CPL.

Offspin-bowling allrounder Roston Chase, uncapped in T20Is, elbowed his way into the squad after impressing in CPL 2020 and 2021 edition for the St Lucia team.

However, there was no place for Narine, and Holder was only part of the reserves.

Narine has been active in CPL and IPL and was more recently part of the Hundred. Still, he hasn't been in action in West Indies since 2019, when he indicated to national selectors that he was "not ready."

In Narine's absence, leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr is the only specialist spinner in the group. He will be assisting by finger spin-bowling allrounder Fabian Allen and Roston Chase.

Left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein didn't make it to the main squad but Darren's traveling reserves.

Dwayne Bravo, who suffered from a groin injury during St Kitts & Nevis Patriots' match against St Lucia Kings on 4 September, hasn't played in CPL since then, was cleared for selection for the world cup.

Bravo came out of T20 international retirement in Dec 2019 to reunite with cap Kieron Pollard to hunt for another world cup title.

Oshane Thomas, who played only two T20Is this year, also found a place after a potent spell for his new Barbados Royals team.

Thomas hit speeds up to 140kph and cranked it up when he bowled Chris Gayle with a 142kph rocket.

Read More : Indian Squad for T20 World Cup

Rampaul is the biggest surprise, although he is currently the top wicket-taker in the CPL, with 17 strikes in eight matches at an average of 13 and an economy rate of 7.20. In addition to pounding the deck with pace, Rampaul has been effective with his slower cutters. Earlier in the 2020-21 Super 50 Cup, Rampaul was the second-highest wicket-taker, with 14 strikes in six matches for Trinidad & Tobago. Obed McCoy lends more variety to the attack with his left-arm angle and change-ups.

In the past two seasons, he has also fronted up to bowl the tricky overs for the St Lucia franchise. There was no room, though, for batter Sherfane Rutherford or allrounder Romario Shepherd.

Nine West Indies' squad members will feature in the second leg of the IPL in the UAE before they begin their T20 World Cup defense with a rematch of the 2016 final against England on 23 October.

Harper backed the side to defend their world title successfully.

Squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Nicholas Pooran (vice-capt & wk), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher (wk), Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr

Reserves: Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...