Wednesday, 07 December 2022

Rohit Sharma to lead Team India for NZ T20i series

Rohit Sharma to lead Team India for NZ T20i series

BCCI announced a 16-member squad, and Rohit Sharma has been named India's new T20I captain that will play three T20Is against New Zealand (Kiwi) starting later this month. However, the team will be without Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, and Hardik Pandya, who rested for the T20Is series.

KL Rahul has been chosen as vice-captain of the team, marking maiden international call-ups for Venkatesh Iyer and Harshal Patel. Iyer represented Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2021, scoring 370 runs at an average of 41.11 with four half-centuries and taking three wickets, playing a vital role in the two-time champions reaching the finals.

Harshal Patel, representing the RCB, emerged as the leading wicket-taker with 32 wickets, the joint-highest in single editions of the IPL, including a hat-trick against MI.

The squad also features young fast bowler Avesh Khan after a great show in the IPL. Avesh khan, one of the reserve players for the England Test series, had to return home after an injury during the warm-up game but made a brilliant recovery to finish the IPL with 24 wickets for Delhi Capitals. Yuzvendra Chahal returns to the fold after getting axed for the T20 WC even as the spin department remains bolstered in a company of Axar Patel and R Ashwin.

Shreyas Iyer, who was one of the backup players at the World Cup, has been added back to the squad, which also marks the return of Ruturaj Gaikwad, the leading run-getter of IPL 2021, and its Orange Cap winner, Gaikwad, who scored hammered 635 runs in Chennai Super Kings' title-winning campaign last month, was part of India's squad for Sri Lanka tour but didn't return impressive numbers.

Read More: Retention rules for IPL 2022

As expected, there is no place for regulars Kohli, Bumrah, Shami, Jadeja, and Pandya, who has been on the road for far longer. Kohli, Shami Bumrah, and Jadeja have been playing at a stretch since India's tour of England in August, followed by the IPL and the recently-concluded T20 World Cup. The motive behind resting these players seems to stem from India embarked on an extended tour of South Africa in December. The team could offer their top players a break to freshen up and be ready in time for the SA tour.

The board also announced India A's schedule and squad for three four-day matches in South Africa, which will take place on 23 November, 29 November, and 6 December in Bloemfontein. It features Priyank Panchal as captain, RCB young batter Devdutt Padikkal, and Sunrisers Hyderabad's latest pace sensation Umran Malik.

There was, however, no information about India's Test squad for the two-match series against New Zealand, which starts 25 November, following the conclusion of the T20Is on 21 November.

India's T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj.

India 'A' squad for South Africa tour: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Follow Us

Popular Post

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Maharashtra SSC Board Result 2022 To Be Announced Tomorrow

Farhan Sayyed Jun 16, 2022 Politics

The MSBSHSE (Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education) will announce the SSC, Class 10 exam result 2022 on Friday, June 17...