Monday, 18 October 2021

Whatsapp added New Disappearing photo Feature

Whatsapp added New Disappearing photo Feature

WhatsApp has at last added a new disappearing image feature to a stable version of the app.

The part is ‘View Once’ and is now similar to Instagram’s expired media feature works. When you send a photo using the feature, it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, you will have to select View Once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video. Keep reading to know more about the Whatsapp New Disappearing photo feature.

What should you know about the new WhatsApp feature?

Whatsapp has confirmed that the new Disappearing photo feature will work on any photo or video you send through the ‘View Once’ feature not be saving to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send View Once an image or video, WhatsApp won’t show it again.

The messaging app won’t allow you to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos sent or received with the View Once media feature. If a recipient opened a View Once photo or video, you could only see if they have read receipts turned on.

The Facebook-owned company also says that if you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of sending it, the media will expire from the chat. However, one will be able to restore the ‘View once media’ from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be putting back.

Why should you send media using the ‘View Once’ feature to ‘trusted’ users?

WhatsApp allows anyone to take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. Additionally, the individual won’t get notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording.

Whatsapp added a New Disappearing photo Feature 1getty image

Read More: Vinay Prakash to be resident grievance officer Twitter India announced

WhatsApp also warns that one can even take a photo or video of the media with a camera or other device before it gets disappears.

The company said,

“Encrypted media may be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp’s servers after you’ve sent it.”

How does it work?

Step 1: Open the app(WhatsApp) and tap on the attachment icon.

Step 2: Go to Gallery and select the photo or video you want to send to your contact.

Step 3: After selecting it, you will see a clock-like icon in the ‘Add a caption bar. Tap on it to enable the View Once feature. Once you enable it, the app will show a message saying, “Photoset to View Once.” You can then send disappearing photos to your friends and family members.